By and -


  • Significant national water reforms began in 1994 through COAG
  • A water access licence allows for the licence and water allocation to be bought, sold, subdivided, consolidated and changed

Murray-Darling Basin History

The River Murray Waters Agreement commenced in 1915. In operation for 70 years, it was the first intergovernmental water agreement. The Commonwealth, NSW, Victoria and South Australia were parties to the agreement. Prior to this, NSW water law was contained in the Water Rights Act 1896, the Water Act 1912, and the Water Administration Act 1986. The River Murray Waters Agreement was replaced by the Murray-Darling Basin Agreement (MDB Agreement) enacted by the Murray-Darling Basin Act 1993 (Cth) in 1992 and, in 2007, the Commonwealth took management of and control over the Murray Darling Basin through the Water Act 2007 (Cth).

You've reached the end of this article preview

There's more to read! Subscribe to LSJ today to access the rest of our updates, articles and multimedia content.

Subscribe to LSJ

Already an LSJ subscriber or Law Society member? Sign in to read the rest of the article.

Sign in to read more